If You Think Talk Radio is Bad, Tune into Congressional Hearings

I haven’t been able to find a transcript or recording of today’s House Committee on the Budget hearing, the important “mark up” hearing of the proposed 2015 budget.  But it was a doozy.

I don’t have details here now so I will revisit this later.  However, the simple minded arguments today packaged in florid rhetoric puts talk radio distortions to shame.  I simply don’t believe it and I guess before I tune out with a good movie or book tonight…I have to vent.

I guess it is no surprise that the typical uninformed American might trust that his or her elected official speaks with sincerity and truth, but even a poorly informed cynic would be shocked at how poorly some politicians process facts and ideas.  The flawed arguments, logical breakdowns, and flat out lies defy respect.  Some of these people are either painfully simple or they are simply bad people.  Either way they do not belong in public office, especially serving as leaders at the national level.

I’ll get my hands on a transcript of today’s hearings.  The hearings are nothing but a chance to get political sound bites on the record.  There’s no work being done here.  (One presumes that happens behind closed doors.  Alas — in today’s Washington, at least — you’d be wrong.)

You can hear this dismal stuff every day on C-Span.

If anyone has quick access to this stuff, I am looking for the committee’s 10:30 hearing schedule as “The Mark Up of the Concurrent Resolution on the Budget for Fiscal Year 2015.”

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

