Can One Be Metaphysically Present?

Shadow ManMaybe it was a near-death experience, but will standing back in the woods this afternoon I felt a sudden rush of clarity.  In a moment I became acutely aware of myself standing and being alive.  Hyper aware.  I panicked for a second, thinking a meteorite or airplane was about to crash down on me and end it all.  (That would be my luck.)  Instead I stood there for a moment and enjoyed it, uninterrupted by death or anything else.

Then little by little everything mattered less.  Standing didn’t seem so hyper-real anymore and trees and wind and air were just trees and wind and air again.

But I find the whole experience encouraging.  There’s something more than the fog in which I seem to live.  I am accepting that as good news.

 

One thought on “Can One Be Metaphysically Present?

Leave a Reply

