Neckties and Passion

A striped bow tie.

A striped bow tie. 

 

Two weeks ago — maybe three — I read an article in the New York Times Week in Review anticipating the demise of men’s neckties.  I would link to it, but it is impossible to search and find anything on the New York Times website.  But it was there.

 

Anyway, I plan to save the necktie, at least do my part to save neckties.  I might even add a bow tie or two.  Besides, I need a passion, and learning classic cars or railroad cars seems like a lot of work at my age.  (I already own neckties.)

 

There was a time when I thought graphs would be my passion, but I wasn’t coached very well in that pursuit.  I really liked fractals, patterns, cycles, and things.  Everything is a part of pattern of one sort or another.  Everything.   (Except chess.)  Spent most of my boyhood thinking about these things.

 

Film was going to be a passion, but I am late to the game for that, too.  The trick here is an early start.  Being good at film is all about reputation, not experience or talent, regardless of the angle you take to it.

 

Paper is something of a passion.  I really like paper.  Paper, pens, and pencils.  I wish I lived in rooms full of filing cabinets, book cases, and heavy wooden tables.

 

Boozing and womanizing could be an interesting passion, but not very original.

 

So I am back to neckties.  I am going to wear more.  In fact I just ordered a new black silk tie that I think I will make good use of.  I’ll wear it when I ride my bike, for example.

 

Ties add seriousness to a gentleman’s sense of style, both in formal matters and playful ones.  A tie says something.  It is like a grown up’s t-shirt.

 

Fashion is in a steady decline, an intentional devolution born in neglect.  And I am choosing otherwise, taking a baby step in a different direction.

 

Unless boozing and womanizing becomes fun again.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Neckties and Passion

  1. Patrick

    “Paper is something of a passion. I really like paper. Paper, pens, and pencils. I wish I lived in rooms full of filing cabinets, book cases, and heavy wooden tables.”

    Word! I would be in heaven. I gave one of my students a CD earlier this year. I wanted her to listen to it. She stared confused and not really knowing what it was or what she was supposed to do with it. I guess I’m old school another time around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

