Minneapolis…This “Parking” Ticket is Ridiculous

Not my ticket.  Mine is more stupid.

Not my ticket. Mine is more stupid.

I believe you can still report defective parking meters in Minneapolis.  How about defective parking cops?

Just before 2:00 today, I got a “parking” ticket on 9th Street in downtown Minneapolis.  I was hoping to set an appointment downtown and while driving northbound on 9th I saw a spot open on the street, thinking I was in luck and wouldn’t have to commit to an expensive lot, I pulled in.

I got my laptop in order, sent a text message, and grabbed some quarters for the meter.  When I opened the door, there was a traffic officer with a parking ticket.

Come on…really??

In turns out that the metered space is dedicated to vehicles making deliveries to buildings in that area during the afternoon.  This is something I would have discovered when I went to pay the parking meter, but I didn’t get a chance to do that.

As all of you know, I am a decent guy and this is what a decent guy would have done if the situation had been turned around.  I would have walked up to the stopped car, rapped on the window, and said “Hey, Mac.  This is a loading zone.  You can’t park here.”  All would have been good.

I argued my point and I suppose the officer couldn’t put the ticket back into his little gadget, but he made the mistake when he didn’t give me a chance to move.  Because he would rather write a ticket than alert me to my mistake, the city wants $42.  That’s ridiculous.

I’m fighting it.  Who’s with me?  My ticket, by the way, lists my offense as parking in a loading zone for more than 30 minutes.  I wasn’t there for three.  Is that our angle?  Or can we report Mr. Parking Officer defective?

3 thoughts on “Minneapolis…This “Parking” Ticket is Ridiculous

  1. BeingZhenya

    Man, parking in downtown sucks! Sorry about that! Good luck fighting it! I remember I got a ticket in NYC for not moving the car when they were doing street cleaning, and just ended up leaving car there, because well, what was the point?

    Reply
    1. Tour Guide Post author

      Thanks…The parking ticket is bad enough — for a short pull over — but the fact that the parking officer didn’t just tell me about the mistake and ask me to move drives me nuts. I’m fighting it on the principle of right and wrong, for sure. One way or another…I shall prevail! (keep wishing me luck.)

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Why You Need to Know Me in Minneapolis | A Little Tour in Yellow

Leave a Reply

