Ladybug Ladybug (1963)

This is an entry about writer’s block, so bear with me.  At the moment I am working on several things at the same time.  Among them is a story that is turning into an essay which will likely become a post on A Little Tour in Yellow someday.  It is that sort of thing.

And it is a perfect example of why I try not to use my own experience as a model for stories.  I get stuck.

Yesterday I visited the woods and parks I played in as a boy.  I couldn’t help myself.  I made a special trip to do just that.  Fall causes all sorts of nostalgic feelings to stir.  That’s what got this started.

While walking, I cobbled together stories, essays, all kinds of ideas.  Since then I have been trying to get them down on paper.  No luck …not yet.

So I thought I would watch Ladybug, Ladybug (1963) and reset my focus.  Despite its tense subject and apparently tragic conclusion, Ladybug, Ladybug feels like home to me.  It is a fantastic film and one rich with nostalgia for anyone fortunate enough to attend a small, well-ordered school as a child.

Television shows like Father Knows Best or Leave it to Beaver are criticized for exaggerating the simple purity of post-war suburban American life.  Ladybug, Ladybug is very different.  It has the purity and order, but with an authenticity that rarely exists in films of the time.

Based on real events, Ladybug, Ladybug is the story of what happens at a rural New York school during the early 1960s when teachers receive a Civil Defense warning alerting them of a imminent nuclear attack.  They keep a cool head and follow the book,  and impending doom becomes little more than an inconvenience that must be endured.

Sounds like a dreadfully dull story, I know, but that is on account of my quick and poor description.  If Ladybug, Ladybug is not on the list of top 100 best films of all time, one of those that is there now needs to come off the list for this one.

I did go to a school like that and I attended it just as times were beginning to substantially change…the post 1968 years and still a decade before Reagan.  I love the film.

Whatever it is you’re doing now…stop.  You can stream Ladybug, Ladybug on Netflix. You won’t be sorry.

For my part, I need to find some mojo, need to get cranking.  More from me later.  You watch the film.

Leave a Reply

